Wigs

In previous blogs I have briefly mentioned wigs but have never spoken about them in detail. I thought it would be good to include a blog on wigs because it is a topic that may help a wider range of people as you don’t just have to have alopecia to wear a wig. This is also a topic that I feel quite strongly about.

Now, most of you probably think that having a wig is pretty simple. Well, no. Simple concept, yes but not simple. You see, different wigs need different care and different brands suit different people. It’s a bit like buying shoes. I’m not going to pretend that I’m an expert on wigs because I’m not but after having worn them for over 10 years I have learnt a few things.

Some wigs will need to be brushed or washed on a very frequent basis. Some need to be kept at a certain temperature or in certain conditions etc and all of them need to be kept in some sort of bag or box. This is because, unlike hair, wigs go tatty and look like … will, a floor-mop (something that I have learnt from experience)!:

November 2006 I AM REALLY NOT KIDDING!!!!  A FLOOR-MOP!!!!

Something else that I have learnt from my many, many wigs is that some brands and/or shops sell better wigs than others. Unsurprisingly, the shops that the NHS send you to are pretty much floor-mops when you buy them but you can’t really complain when they are free! However, there are some places out there (admittedly they are hard to find but they are out there) that do have very good quality (and unfortunately extremely costly) wigs for sale. The best place I have ever been is http://www.andreashairoom.co.uk/. Andrea is a lovely women who cares deeply about her job. She only stocks the best and really works with her clients. I bought a wig from her over 2 years ago that still looks new which is extremely good going for some nylon that is tied to a net. Okay, so wigs are a bit more than that but you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

