Keep Your Hair On

This is something that isn’t so easy when you wear a wig.

I have lost count how many times I have had to throw my hand on top of my head to “keep my hair on”; every gust of wind, every rollercoaster loop and every turn of the head. Speed has never been my forte, I was always picked last in PE and I can’t run to save my life, but if “keeping your hair on” was an Olympic sport then I’d win gold.

When you wear a wig, “keeping your hair on” involves lots of skill and precision. The slightest misjudgement of time and it would be like a rat flying through the air (just imagine the horror and surprise on people’s faces) or one slip of the hand and the rat would be clinging onto your head for dear life.

It’s not just with sudden movement that you face a rat related disaster either; place a heavy clip or too many accessories in the wig and whoop straight down the back. If you’re lucky it may not slide completely off but you’ll certainly end up with a hairline higher than Christina Ricci.

So what’s the solution? Wig tape. That’s right, the solution to this problem is to tape your wig to your head. As if the prospect of having a rat clinging to your head just isn’t problematic enough, you are now face with the ultimatum that you can either risk your rat related fate or you can put tape on your head that will ultimately pull not only a lump of hair out (which hurts just as much for us with short hair as it does for you with long hair) but also rip half of your skin off. So effectively, your choices are to have a rat clinging onto your head or to wax your skin off. My choice is always to keep the rat because let’s face it, even if it does go wrong you get entertainment from the reaction of everyone surrounding you.

I hope you have a good weekend and that my rat related misfortune has brought a smile to your day.

Leave a Reply

